AFC Champions League: Al-Sadd beat Al-Wehdat 5-2 for first win

Al-Sadd recorded a 5-2 victory over Jordanian side Al-Wehdat in the AFC Champions League 2022 Group E third round game played at the Prince Mohammed bin Fahad Stadium on Friday.

Akram Afif scored the opening goal in the 23rd minute from a penalty, after a foul on Ali Asad in the box.

Al-Wehdat turned the score around towards the end of the first half, with goals from Ahmed Samir and Mohammed Anas in the 42nd and 44th minutes respectively.

After the halftime break, Al-Sadd emerged with renewed desire and their efforts paid off in the 58th minute, when Santi Cazorla blasted in the equaliser with a powerful left-footed shot from inside the box.

Andre Ayew then put Al-Sadd back in front in the 62nd minute, with a header from a close range, after Guilherme had initially got a touch on the ball following a corner delivered by Cazorla.

Substitute Rodrigo Tabata made it 4-2 in the 73rd minute, heading in the rebound after Ayew’s initial shot came back off the crossbar.

Another substitute got on the scoresheet in injury time, with Mohammed Waad netting Al-Sadd’s fifth goal with a fine finish to complete a big victory.

The result means that Al-Sadd have their first win in this campaign, taking their points tally to 4 from three games.

Al-Sadd face Al-Wehdat again in the fourth round of the group stage, with the game set to be played on 19 April at the same venue.


Al-Sadd x Al-Wehdat (AFC Champions League Group E – third round)


Prince Mohammed bin Fahad Stadium


Al-Sadd: Saad Al-Dosari, Abdelkarim Hassan, Boualem Khoukhi (Tarek Salman), Pedro Miguel, Jung Woo-young, Guilherme, Santi Cazorla, Guilherme, Ali Asad (Rodrigo Tabata), Akram Afif (Yousuf Abdurisag), Hassan Al-Haydos, Andre Ayew

Al-Wehdat: Ahmed Nawas, Feras Shelbaieh, Tareq Khattab, Mohannad Al Souliman, Mohammad Ali Hasan, Ahmad Haikal, Clarence Bitang, Munther Abu Amara, Ahmed Samir, Anas Al Awadat, Mohammed Anas


Al-Sadd won 5-2


Akram Afif 23′
Ahmed Samir 42′
Mohammed Anas 44′
Santi Cazorla 58′
Andre Ayew 62′
Rodrigo Tabata 73′
Mohammed Waad 90+3′


Mohammad Ali Hasan 17′
Ahmed Samir 57′
Saad Al-Dosari 80′

Match Officials

Referee: Mohanad Sarray
Assistant1 : Obaid Al-Swaiedi
Assistant 2: Ahmed Al Baghdadi
Fourth official: Khalid Al Shaqsi