QNB Stars League: Al-Sadd clinch Qatar Clasico with 1-0 win over Al-Rayyan

Al-Sadd clinched the Qatar Clasico, after a 1-0 win over Al-Rayyan in the QNB Stars League Round 10 clash which was played on Wednesday at the Jassim bin Hamad Stadium.

Baghdad Bounedjah scored the lone goal of the game in the 83rd minute. The result meant that Al-Sadd increased their tally to 28 points from 9 wins and a draw.

The game got off to an exciting start, with end-to-end action as both sides looked to make an early breakthrough. Despite their best efforts, however, neither team was able to create a proper scoring opportunity.

In the 22nd minute, Al-Sadd came close to opening the scoring when Akram Afif advanced into the box, but his shot was blocked by Fahad Younis.

Another chance arrived in the 33rd minute, when Rodrigo Tabata sent in an aerial ball but Khoukhi Boualem’s header went over the crossbar. Yousuf Abdurisag then dribbled forward on the right wing and beat Ahmed Abdelmaqsoud before sending in a cross, but Fahad Younis held on to the ball.

Al-Sadd kept up the pressure in the beginning of the second half, and Bounedjah almost scored off a pass from Akram but Al-Rayyan defender Dame Traore cleared the ball.

Xavi Hernandez made a triple substitution in the 59th minute, sending on Hassan Al-Haydos, Nam Tae-hee and Jung Woo-young in place of Rodrigo Tabata, Yousuf Abdurisag and Musaab Khidir.

The changes had an effect on Al-Sadd’s attack, with Nam sending a great cross aimed at Bounedjah in the 64th minute, but the Algerian’s header went just wide of the post.

The Wolves kept on pushing forward in search of a goal, and they were duly rewarded in the 83rd minute, when Santi Cazorla’s shot from the edge of the box was diverted in by Bounedjah. That would prove to be the only goal of the match, as Al-Sadd extended their winning run in the league.


Al-Sadd x Al-Rayyan (QNB Stars League Round 10)


Jassim bin Hamad Stadium


Al-Sadd: Meshaal Barsham, Tarek Salman, Pedro Miguel, Baghdad Bounedjah, Rodrigo Tabata (Hassan Al-Haydos), Guilherme Torres, Santi Cazorla, Yousuf Abdurisag (Nam Tae-hee), Akram Afif (Hashim Ali), Musaab Khidir (Jung Woo-young), Khoukhi Boualem

Al-Rayyan: Fahad Younis, Franck Kom, Dame Traore, Yacine Brahimi, Abdulaziz Hatem, Ahmed Abdulmaqsoud, Moufak Awad, Nayef Al-Hadhrami, Mohammed Juma, Yohan Boli, Gabriel Mercado


Al-Sadd won 1-0


Baghdad Bounedjah 83′


Jung Woo-young 66′
Guilherme Torres 87′
Pedro Miguel 89′
Fahad Younis 90+2′


Abdulhadi Al-Ruwaili (main referee)
Jumua Burshaid (assistant 1)
Faisal Al-Shammari (assistant 2)
Yousuf Yaqoub (fourth official)