Al-Sadd win 2019-20 Ooredoo Cup after 4-0 win over Al-Arabi

Al-Sadd were crowned as the 2019-20 Ooredoo Cup champions, after defeating Al-Arabi 4-0 in the final which was played at the Abdullah bin Khalifa Stadium on Saturday evening.

Yousuf Abdurisag put the Wolves ahead in the 17th minute. Nam Tae-hee made it 2-0 in the 53rd minute, before Santi Cazorla struck Al-Sadd’s third in the 77th. Rodrgio Tabata then wrapped it up with the final goal in stoppage time.

This is Al-Sadd’s second title in the competition after previously winning it in 2011, and is also the club’s 72nd overall trophy.

The game had got off to an intense start in the early minutes. Nam Tae-hee got into the box and almost scored, only to be thwarted by Al-Arabi keeper Mahmoud Abunada. Al-Arabi striker Hamdi Harbaoui then hit the crossbar with a shot from outside the box.

It took until the 17th minute for the opening goal of the game. A quick exchange of passes led to Al-Sadd launching a counter attack, and Nam Tae-hee fed Yousuf Abdurisag with a clever pass. Yousuf got past the advancing Al Arabi goalkeeper before finishing into an open net to make it 1-0.

The first half ended with just that single goal but Al-Sadd would go on to double their advantage after the break. In the 53rd minute, Nam Tae-hee received a through pass from Cazorla before scoring with a curling finish into the bottom corner.

Cazorla then got on the scoresheet in the 77th minute; a loose ball in the box rolled to the path of Yousuf, who duly squared it for the Spaniard to finish past the keeper.

A fourth goal arrived in stoppage time, and this time it was Tabata who scored, as he struck a powerful shot from distance that left the keeper with no chance of saving it.



Al-Sadd x Al-Arabi (2019/2020 Ooredoo Cup Final )


Abdullah bin Khalifa Stadium


Al-Sadd: Meshaal Barsham, Jung Woo-young, Bahaa Al-Leithi, Hashim Ali (Abdulrahman Rashed), Hussam Kamal, Guillerme Torres, Ahmed Sayyar (Rami Suhail), Yousuf Abdurisag (Saoud Al-Nasr), Nam Tae-hee, Santi Cazorla, Rodrigo Tabata

Al-Arabi: Mahmoud Ibrahim, Marc Martinez, Abdullah Marafie, Mehrdad Mohammadi, Hamdi Harbaoui, Khalifa Saad (Khalid Mubarak), Sebastian Soria, Jasim Jaber, Ibrahim Nasser (Mohammed Saad Al Badr), Fahd Shanin (Yasir Abubakar), Jasser Yahya (Abdulaziz Al Ansari)


Al-Sadd won 4-0


Yousuf Abdurisag 17’

Nam Tae-hee 53’

Santi Cazorla 77’

Tabata 90+1’


Guillerme Torres 28’

Santi Cazorla 35’


Abdul Hadi Al-Ruwaili (Main referee)

Ramzan Al-Ramzani (Assistant 1)

Abdul Majeed Al-Karbi (Assistant 2)

Yusef al-Sharshani (Fourth official)